The International Baccalaureate ®

The International Baccalaureate® (IB) is a non-profit educational foundation since 1968 with its headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland. The IB aims to create and provide access opportunities so that more students are able to benefit from a high quality, international educational experience. Students completing the IB programme gain an internationally recognised qualification.

The IB offers four programmes for students from aged 3 to beyond 19 which enable them to develop the intellectual, personal, emotional and social skills to live, learn and work in a rapidly globalising world. The programmes are based on proven practices and updated educational research to produce a system of education that is recognised by many of the world's top universities. There are currently over 4,000 IB schools worldwide. Schools offering the IB curriculum undergo an intensive authorisation process and are regularly evaluated by an IB team.

The IB Programmes

The IB offers three programmes:

• The Primary Years Programme (PYP)

• The Middle Years Programme (MYP)

• The IB Diploma

WAT is authorised to provide all three IB Programmes: the IB Primary Years Programme (PYP) (ages 3-11), IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) (ages 11-15) and IB Diploma Programme (DP) (ages 16-18).